Kerala State Tourism Awards 2015-2016 announced

    22 awards presented in three categories for exceptional performance in the tourism sector



    The Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala presented the much-awaited ‘Kerala State Tourism Awards 2015-2016’, honoring Kerala’s best tourism service providers for their exceptional performances. Shri. PinarayiVijayan, Honorable Chief Minister of Kerala, who inaugurated the awards ceremony at the Hotel Taj Vivantaherepresented the prestigious award to the winners.

    Speaking on the occasion, Honorable Chief Minister –Shri.PinarayiVijayan said, The value of public participation in tourism is phenomenal  and CM urged for an inclusive tourism approach with public participation  which can make Kerala the best destination for international tourists.CM promised that the Government of Kerala is relentlessly striving  to bring in more prosperity in the tourism sector of Kerala. Honorable Chief Minister   distributed the 2015-2016 Kerala State Tourism Awards and addressed an enlightened audience.”

    The launch of an updated version of was also launched by Honorable Chief Minister Sri PinarayiVijayan.

    Sri KadakampallySurendran, Minster for Tourism, Co-operation and Devaswom, presided over the awards ceremony. He promised to implement the recommendations included in the   New Tourism Policy quickly within the specified timeline. The Minister strongly believed in the strength of Kerala Tourism industry and shared his hope that the New Tourism Policy will bring a positive upsurge for the overall development Of Kerala. The Minister requested the leaders of Tourism Industry to contribute to the Chief Minister’s Relief fund and help to the victims of Okhi cyclone.

    Tourism-Culture Secretary Smt. Rani George IAS welcomed the gathering and hoped Kerala will be on top of Global Tourism Map. Shecongratulated the Kerala Tourism Award winners on behalf of Kerala Tourism Department and strongly believed the New Tourism Policy will be implemented soon and will yield wonderful results empowering Kerala Tourism Industry .She added that the success of the New Tourism Policy is a collective responsibility and shared her optimism about the leadership of CM Sri PinarayiVijayan and Tourism Minister KadakampallySurendran.

    Sri VK Madhu(District Panchayat President), Sri EM Najeeb(President CKTI), Sri Baby Mathew (President KTM Society), Sri Aneesh Kumar PK (President, ATTOI), Sri Jaffar Malik IAS(Additional Director, Kerala Tourism) were among those present. Sri. P Bala Kiran IAS (Director, Kerala Tourism) proposed a vote of thanks.

    Based on the exceptional work done, 22 awards under three categories were presented at the event.

    Tourism Awards 2015-16

    Category -I -Tour operators/Travel Agents

    ·         Best Inbound Tour operator to Kerala – Inter sight Tours and Travels Pvt. Ltd, Anna Building, NH Bypass road, Thykoodam, Vyttila, Cochin-682019


    Category -II -Hotels/Tourism Service providers

    ·         Best One Star/Two Star Hotel in Kerala  – No eligible candidates

    ·         Best Three Star Hotel in Kerala – Estuary Island, Poovar.P.O, Thiruvananthapuram  (Special Mention)

    ·         Best Four Star Hotel in Kerala –   Spice Village, Thekkady-Kumily Road, Thekkady

    ·         Best Five Star Hotel in Kerala      Kochi Marriott Hotel, Lulu International Shopping Mall Pvt Ltd, Edappally

    ·         Best Five Star Deluxe Hotel in Kerala -The LeelaRavizKovalam, Thiruvananthapuram

    ·         Best Heritage Hotel in Kerala -Coconut Lagoon, Kumarakom, Kottayam (Honourable Mention)

    ·         Best Approved &  Classified Ayurvedic Centre in Kerala – Somatheeram Research Institute and Ayurveda Hospital Pvt. Ltd, Chowara

    ·         Best Approved & Classified House Boat Operator in Kerala – NIL

    ·         Best Approved & Classified Homestay in Kerala –  Rose Gardens Eco Friendly Homestay, Munnar

    ·         Best Approved & Classified Service Villa in Kerala – Teak Town, Ruby Estate, Tanah, Mampad. P.O, Malappuram  (Honourable Mention)

     Category III- Special Awards

    ·         Best Hotel Manager in Kerala –  Rajesh Nair, HIG 50, Panampally Nagar, Cochin

    ·         Best Tourism/Hotel Management Institute in Kerala – Oriental School of Hotel Management, Valley View, Lakkidi, Wayanad

    ·         Best Tourism related Report in print media –  G. Jyothilal, Senior Sub Editor, MathrubhumiYathra, MM Press, Kozhikode

    ·         Best Photography in Tourism sector –  Rajan.M.Thomas, Chief Photographer, MalayalaManorama, Kollam

    ·         Best Tourism-related publication in Kerala – ManoramaTraveller, MM Publications, Kottayam

    ·         Most Innovative Project in Tourism Sector – Mathrubhumi Printing & Publishing Co Ltd, Kaloor, Kochi

    ·         Most Innovative use of Information Technology in Tourism Sector – Sanchari Facebook Community,

    ·         Kodavangattil House, Valillapuzha P.O, Areacode, Malappuram (Honourable Mention)

    ·         Best practices in the field of Responsible Tourism – Chalukya Grace, Tower House, Convent Road, Thiruvananthapuram

    ·         Best adventure tourism operator – Kalypso Adventures Pvt Ltd, G 340, Panampilly Nagar, Kochi

    ·         Best Tourism Club – DarulUloom VHSS Pulleppady, Ernakulam

    ·         Best Student Coordinator of Tourism Club – Aiena Varghese, St. Xavier’s College for Women, Aluva

    ·         Best Tourism Police – V.B. Rasheed, Valiyaveetil House, P.O Eriyad

    ·         Best Tourism Lifeguard  – Premjith T.V, Mullassery House, CheruvannurFeroke P.O., Calicut


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here